My Thoughts

The Job I Hated, But Needed, poem by Amanda Eifert (MY FIRST JOB Poetry and Prose Series)


I was thrilled to have a poem published online at Silver Birch Press. Their monthly theme was ‘your first job’ and I wrote about my awful experience at Dairy Queen one summer.

Silver Birch Press

cassia beckThe Job I Hated, But Needed
by Amanda Eifert

My first job was a leap, caused a limp,
Applied at the DQ, the manager was likable.
Trainees had three-hour shifts,
And no one explained how the take-out and eat-in system worked;
The manager yelled at me on my second shift.
I didn’t understand if he needed workers,
Why I had one shift each week of only three hours;
Never long or often enough to catch on.
I practiced endless ice cream cones and Sundaes.
I made delicious blizzards, brownie desserts, and treats.
When the milk shake machine exploded on me,
I held my breath and cleaned up the mess,
I was screamed at and no other worker defended me.
I felt isolated and tried to be friendly,
Then, I was told I needed to get along with the staff better.
I received stilted conversations, older girls who were mean to…

View original post 341 more words

4 thoughts on “The Job I Hated, But Needed, poem by Amanda Eifert (MY FIRST JOB Poetry and Prose Series)”

Leave a Reply

