Health, MindLoveMisery's Menagerie, My Thoughts, Nonfiction, Quotes, Religion/Morality, Short Stories And Serial Stories, Writing, Writing Challenges

Sunday Prompt: NonFiction – Bad Days Mean Good Days Ahead #amwriting #nonfiction 


Thanks to Oloriel of MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie for hosting this week’s Sunday Prompt. This week we are to share the happiest moment in our life, or the saddest moment and how we overcame it. 

——-

Credit: MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie
——

I’m not going to share my saddest or my happiest moment. I think these moments  constantly shift. But I will tell you about yesterday, for me it was a day where I felt hopeless. I’m a goal-oriented person and when I’m not feeling well enough to complete even the tiniest goal on my to do list, I feel lost and useless.

The background to this is as some of you know, is that I deal with depression that has caused what my psychiatrist has diagnosed as Chronic of Severe Fatigue. I’ve had it for years, I’ve always known.

Most doctors don’t even recognize CFS or ME as a disorder although there is information about people suffering from it hundreds of years ago and presently everywhere. As well a good friend of mine also has CFS/ME but hers while sharing some similarities, is a bit different from mine — she is able to work.

I’ve been homebound lately feeling extra fatigued and also because my insurance company ended my disability in November –I’ve lost a great deal of my income for the moment. When I’m so fatigued there are days it’s too much to take a bus.

Sometimes I have no choice but to take a cabl. Some days I wake up greatly worn out even after sleeping all night. The kind of tiredness CFS or ME produces is beyond sleepy –it’s mental and physical exhaustion. So when you can’t afford a cab and only the bus, it makes a person feel trapped when the ride their is tiring. 

At times when I’m home too long, I feel lonely and bored. I enjoy being out with friends and family or being able to visit a coffee shop, the mall, the art gallery (etc.), to be around people. The CFS doesn’t allow me to work (go to an office etc). as I never know how I will feel each day. On the flip side, I also need to be home a great deal to recharge. When I go out it’s not for more than a few hours, it’s what my body can handle.

Some days I can’t concentrate well on reading. Some days I can’t concentrate on writing. Other days I can’t do anything but watch the TV or programs on Netflix and after a while, even the stimulation from that bothers me. One or two days a week I feel well and get quite a bit done, only to exhaust myself for the following day.

Yesterday I felt awful even though I had it in me to do a short yoga video and a few simple chores that needed done, then I was physically and mentally worn out and frustrated. I was bothered that I have to stretch a small income so far and that I couldn’t take the cab a short way to this local coffee and book shop or to the mall to look around and have some Edo for lunch. 

I’ve also been dealing with weight issues due to a medication. I can’t switch medications, these ones work the best, but as a person who was a chubby child it bothers me I can’t keep my promise to myself to always stay fit. Each diet I try doesn’t work. I need intense cardiovascular exercise but beyond a bit of walking when I’m well I don’t have the energy for it. So yesterday, that too felt overwhelming. 

As well I’ve been freelancing and realized starting out, even to only make a a few extra hundred dollars a month is difficult. It’s like any career, something you have to learn from and build upon overtime.

But today I woke up and my outlook on the world had changed. I prayed last night and I realized this morning, I’m doing fine. I have a warm place to live with nutritious food and for the most part, I can buy what I need each month and do a few things with friends. My friends are also extremely understanding of what I experience and that along with my family’s understanding is a blessing as well. 

I’m hoping on ‘good days’ I can learn to endure the bus, to get out of the house more often because being around people makes me happy, even if I’m only an observer on certain occasions. 

I don’t feel lost today. I stopped focusing on ‘me’ and ‘my problems’ and recognized even though I think I have it bad certain days, others are experiencing much worse problems around the world.

I also realized starting something such as a part-time freelance career (even a limited number of hours a week) after not being able to work after nine-years at all, will take time, more than a few months effort and additional learning.

Most vitally I realized God has me and my problems in the palm of His hand and He is taking care of me even when I feel stuck in life. He says even when I’m still and not doing much at all, it’s enough. Yesterday was a bad day but sometimes you need bad days so you know how to be thankful for good days. Do you agree? 

The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.” – Exodus 14:14

——

©Mandibelle16. (2017) All Rights Reserved.

9 thoughts on “Sunday Prompt: NonFiction – Bad Days Mean Good Days Ahead #amwriting #nonfiction ”

  1. Oh Mandi! I love this! Keep up your great attitude girl! Yes we all have bad days but you know how to turn them around! You take it to God. The verse you quoted has been one of my favorites. Reading Be Still gave me goosebumps ,for I wrote a post around that just not sure when I will post it. Keep smiling ! Love hugs and prayers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you JR. sometimes are tough but we have to persevere. I’m glad you liked the verse, I often think of it. There’s a song by The Fray “Be Still” I swear I’ve shared it several times before but it for me, always confirms this verse. Almost like a prayer. I’m not sure if it’s a guy singing it to his friend/partner but to me it’s always like hearing the words from God.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. i love the thankfulness you have in you, its not easy to do, saying and writing about it is not the same as living it day by day, know you also having virtual friends who lend support on the days when going out feels such a task, stay with your self and reflect on the goodness you bring to others. your comments on stories we write always with kind consideration and deep thoughtfulness. Love the way you approached this writing challenge, in the end you finished with hope. that’s a living word. may it give you strength on days you feel overly tired my dear friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much SingleDust your comment gives me further hope. The writing community here is so beneficial and wonderful to me. So thank you for your lovely comment. I for sure know I have support here 💗💕🙏🏻

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s tough when you have an ‘invisible’ condition like CFS – I know several people with similar illnesses and part of their problem is having their illness recognised and taken seriously. A positive attitude is so important, so well done you for turning it around. You’re going to have tought times but picking yourself up again afterwards is the main thing. All the best

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

