Sunday Photo Fiction: Lost Dreams


Thanks to Alistair Forbes for hosting SPF.


spf-county-hotel
Credit: A Mixed Bag

Fifteen-years ago Chloe had visited the County Hotel for the first time in Aisling.

As a young woman, she loved how most of the boutiques and fine dining in the city were here. She adored the opulent movie theater and grand Opera House nearby. The area bustled with tourists and business people alike.

But Chloe’s favorite neighborhood Le Solas Na Greine, had aged. She decided this would be her last stay at the County Hotel. She noticed how much the decor of the hotel was worn. Even the blankets and sheets were threadbare and Chloe was afraid to go outside, except to catch a cab.

Now she visited a new hub of the city, the neighborhood of Lasaim. Yet, she was still upset such a lively and vibrant neighborhood as Le Solas Na Greine, was now the poorest and most frightening place in the city to be. It tainted her fondest memories of vacationing here.

She hoped in the future a new generation of politicians and citizens would revive her neighborhood. After all, didn’t the name of the city Aisling mean dream?


©Mandibelle16. (2017) All Rights Reserved.

14 thoughts on “Sunday Photo Fiction: Lost Dreams

  1. I get so much when I read your stories, like a lesson in life and you make the words come right through, I could pick and paste the lines I loved but that end up being the whole page, reminds me of a chef painstakingly picking her ingredients and assembling with love. I will remember this word Aisling.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank so much again Single Dust. I try to be thoughtful when I write a story. I think that’s what writing flash fiction pieces teaches you to do, make every single line count. It doesn’t always happen, but when it does I’m very pleased. It’s Irish, so are the names of the neighborhoods, I wanted them to sounds more unique, like a real piece of culture was also being lost with this neighborhoods decay. Thanks so much for commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A great story Mandi, perfectly catches how time moves on and leaves some places behind. No doubt some big companies will spot an opportunity to make money redeveloping the old neighbourhood eventualyl. Well done.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you Suzanne. It really is. Where I live I’ve seen a few neighbourhoods revitalized. It makes such a difference! Thanks for commenting. I’m behind on my comments but I’ll get your pieces 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

