Fiction, Finish Off Fridays/Saturday Mix FlashFiction, MindLoveMisery's Menagerie, My Thoughts, Nature, Writing, Writing Challenges

Finish Off Friday’s Flash Fiction: The Good Stranger


Thanks to MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie for hosting Finish Off Friday’s. This week’s theme is footsteps in the fog.


 

Credit: Phylor – Lorraine

Footsteps echoed eerily in the fog. I’d left the pub early that night and was looking forward to being home warm in my bed.

I glanced behind me, hearing footsteps following persistently, wishing I had my black lab Iggy with me.

A large hand landed on my shoulder. Turning around with trepidation, I faced a tall man in a hoody. He raised his hands, trying to tell me he was harmless, then handed me my forgotten gold clutch.

He smiled, “I’m a bouncer at The Clover and I know you’re a regular. I saw you leaving and wanted to return your purse.”

“Thank you so much,” I stuttered trying to shove the ten from my pocket in his hand.

He refused the money insisting on walking me home, telling me about his young family.


©Mandibelle16. (2016) All Rights Reserved.

 

6 thoughts on “Finish Off Friday’s Flash Fiction: The Good Stranger”

Leave a Reply

