History, Memories/Childhood, My Thoughts, Nonfiction, Pinterest, Poetry, Quatrain -- abab abba ccdc dddd., Relationship, Writing

Poem: Quatrains: “What Never Heals”


broken-heart
http://www.pinterest.com

“I know that’s what people say– you’ll get over it. I’d say it, too. But I know it’s not true. Oh, you’ll be happy again, never fear. But you won’t forget. Every time you fall in love it will be because something in the man reminds you of him.” 

― Betty Smith, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

******

One day you promised me the pain,

Would eventually heal, I’d be —

Free from photographs and the shame.

While I am here, tears streaming.


Out of my mind, of my head,

Did you burn memories seething?

They never left my soul, they’re undead,

While I’m here, tears streaming.


You and her, it’s the cut deepest,

Never heals, it bleeds; you beaming

A baby’s breath; life makes me weak.

While I’m here, tears streaming.


At times, I’m over you completely,

Then, an image leaves me grieving.

Heart of the girl, a heart too sweet.

While I’m here, tears streaming.


Conversation wouldn’t aid, I —

Learn to sew up all broken seams.

Especially in sleep, where I cry,

While I’m here, tears streaming.


A few hours, a few days and —

I’ll be fine again —breathing.

Didn’t have much, nothing so grand.

While I’m here, tears streaming.


Let go, let me free, unburden me,

Stop snipping my wings, inhaling

The past’s ashes, it chokes me,

I was here, tears dried; now I’m free.


 

©Mandibelle16. (2017) All Rights Reserved.

24 thoughts on “Poem: Quatrains: “What Never Heals””

      1. Yes, it does and it touches others hearts when they can feel that raw emotion. I know it makes you vulnerable but it is a great piece of writing. I am learning that, its tough to do, but rewarding. (((HUGS)))

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Amanda, your beautiful poem and the quote are wonderful together. I think you’ve capture so well those feelings at the end of a relationship, the pain and heartache. It feels like there is no getting past it ever, eventually there is forward movement. I don’t think we ever forget, eventually we find our way to a new kind of freedom that we need. I hope you’ve been having a good week so far, please enjoy the rest of it. ~ Mia 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Mia. You are right when you say it becomes a part of you. It’s moving on past those pieces, sometimes it’s hard. My week is so far so good except it’s very very cold now. Enjoy your week as well. I have a piece of yours, I plan to get to. 💕😊

      Liked by 2 people

      1. You’re welcome Amanda. It is hard, my hope is that time softens the memories so that they don’t bite so hard. Glad the week is going well. It’s been cold and a lot of rain here, nothing like what you’re used to, you might even think it’s a very mild and comfortable winter. Amanda, thank you, please don’t give it a second thought. Have a lovely and peaceful evening. 🙂 💕

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy you liked the poem and thank you for the advice. I hope to one day be in that position, happily moved on just as he has. Most times I think I’m okay, but seeing him start his family and the rest of his life, just hit hard. Thanks again 🙂

      Like

    1. Thanks Rosema. Somethings don’t heal I guess, but you have to move on and free yourself. I keep thinking of the Tim McGraw song, “Diamond Rings and Bar Stools” – “some things don’t mix like you hope / like me and you / and diamond rings and old barstools.” I’m the diamond of course lol. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

