How To Write Short Stories


Helpful Piece From Rachel, on Short Story Writing!

Rachel Poli

All writing is hard, but I sometimes find that writing short stories is harder than writing a novel. You’re trying to accomplish the same goalbut in a shorter amount of time. You don’t have twenty-plus chapters to fill like in a novel. No, in a short story you have about ten-plus pages to fill.

According to Writer’s Digest, a short story can range anywhere from 1,500 words to 30,000 words. However, I’ve read short stories that are much less than 30,000 words. I always shoot for a 10,000-word maximum.

With that being said, here a how-to on writing short stories. Or, this is how I do it, anyway.

How To Write Short StoriesJust write

When I come up with a short story idea, I just write. It doesn’t matter how long it turns out to be, that’s what the editing is for later. As long as I get the basic story and idea down…

View original post 573 more words

Leave a Reply

