Sunday Photo Fiction: Part Eight – Nineteen-Years Later


Thanks to Alistair Forbes for hosting SPF.


 

A Mixed Bag

Sam peered at Tom, the brother he hadn’t seen in almost nineteen-years. “You look the same Tom, you’ve weathered the years better than me.”

Tom snorted. “We’re still nearly a mirror image of each other. We’re also in the same place we were nineteen-years-ago. How could you betray your own brother?”

“You were working for the Russian’s Tom with Garig. I had to shoot you, leave you in prison — it was my duty. But you didn’t die.”

Tom snickered. “You’d like to have me dead wouldn’t you? Things aren’t exactly as they seem Sam. Now where’s Chad?”

Both brothers heard the back exit door slam and the fire alarm go off shrilly. Tom pushed past Sam; he tackled Marrion and Chad.

Tom put a gun to Chad’s head and threw Marrion to Sam. He shoved Chad into a life boat which began descending.

“I’m not your son,” Chad said, his voice weak from blood-loss.” Someone shot my tattoo. I’m not a nuclear bomb anymore. Leave me alone.”

“Chad, I know you’re my nephew. It used to make me so angry that Sam shot me almost fatally and I went to prison.But I escaped and I’m here now to help you.”

“I didn’t realize how undercover Sam was nearly nineteen-years ago. He didn’t understand how deeply undercover I was and am.”

“Garig put that chip in your tattoo making you into a nuclear bomb. Garig’s the enemy, he always was; though he tried to make me appear to be.” Tom said.

“I don’t trust you. . . ” Chad muttered. He’d lost so much blood he was surprised he was awake. Tom put new gauze on Chad’s gunshot wound and wrapped bandages around his body, enclosing the wound securely.

“Here,” Uncle Tom said. He handed Chad a chain necklace of the family crest.”We’re a loyal family Chad. I would never betray my country, or my ancestors.”

“My friends are waiting Chad. My higher-ups will ensure Sam and Marrion get to where we’re going. Together we need to defeat Garig once and for all. I want to come home.”

Chad, as usual, found himself fading into unconsciousness.


Please read Part Seven Here.


 

©Mandibelle16.(2016) All Rights Reserved.

13 thoughts on “Sunday Photo Fiction: Part Eight – Nineteen-Years Later

  1. Poor Chad. Having a rough time of it. But more is being filled in for us now in terms of everyone’s experience (and identities). Mandi, this story keeps readers (this reader to start) closely engaged!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

