Audio Poems, Free Verse, Friday Music Prompt, Music and Performers, My Thoughts, Nonfiction, Poetry, Short Stories And Serial Stories, Travel, Writing

Music Prompt: Poetry-Free Verse – “Down In The River”


Thank you to Mind Loves Misery’s Menagerie for this weeks music prompt: “Something In the Water,” by Carrie Underwood. I love love Carrie Underwood. She’s playing in Edmonton in the fall and I’m excited to see her ‘live’ again. This will be my 3rd Carrie Underwood Concert.

What’s also exciting, is her concert will be in Edmonton’s new sports Arena. For those of you who are familiar with the NHL, the Edmonton Oilers have a new home arena at Rogers Place downtown.


“Something In The Water” – Carrie Underwood


As I went down to the river to pray,

Saw everyone going about their day.

Thinking, who should wear the starry crown?

Good Lord, there’s something in the water,

I need my eyes opened, I’m lost, I’m astray.

With the snakes all around me, can this be the right way?

Oh Sisters, Let’s go down, they’re saying the water saves.

No more, wasting the life we’ve been given,

Time for an instant decision,

Go down, go down, go down, down to the river to pray.

Walk into the water, have a little faith.

I know you’re all out of hope, and you’re blind, have no sight.

God, if you’re there, come and rescue me.

The cries of the desperate and those who believe;

Something in the water, and it’s not something  bad.

It’s something which could save us; something alive.

Fathers and Mothers, come down with me too;

Down to the river to pray.

A preacher man waits, and he dunks your head in,

Says you’re clean, now go change your ways.

Joy in my heart and Angels on my side.

Go down, go down, down to the river,

You’ll be a wash in the light, in His glory.

Thank God Almighty, I saw the Light,

Going so far down, I fell into the river and prayed.

Trusting something so much bigger than me.

He who wears the starry crown.

Down to the river, down to the river,

Down to the river to pray.

There, my sins were washed away.

I once was lost, but now am found,

Was blind, but now I see.


*As you can see, this poem, my reaction to the prompt is composed of my own words and words from three different songs.

All words which are italicized are from the song “Down to the River to Pray,” by Alison Krauss (the music video I’ll post below) but originally from the movie: Oh Brother, Where Art Thou?

“Down To The River to Pray” – Allison Krauss


The words which are in bold are from the prompt song by Carrie Underwood: “Something in the Water.”

The last few lines which are italicized and bolded are from the hymn Carrie uses in her song: “Amazing Grace.”


©Mandibelle16. (2016) All Rights Reserved.

6 thoughts on “Music Prompt: Poetry-Free Verse – “Down In The River””

  1. Whistles!!! This is absolutely gorgeous writing Mandi 😀 especially love ‘Go down, go down, down to the river, You’ll be a wash in the light, in His glory. Thank God Almighty, I saw the Light.’ Beautifully penned. Thank you so much for participating at MLMM ❤

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    PS: Hope you have fun at the concert ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

