Fiction, Flash Fiction, My Thoughts, Short Stories And Serial Stories, Travel, Writing

Sunday Photo Fiction: Part 3 – Nineteen-Years Later


Thanks to Alistair Forbes for hosting SPF.


Mountain homes
A Mixed Bag.

Before they had taken their first flight, Uncle Sam had asked Chad for the calligraphy written letter. They had stopped at a courier and he had the letter sent quickly to a friend.

After weeks travelling, the final leg of their journey ended in the mountains of Switzerland. They traveled by Gondola, before following a path to a sheltered stone doorway in the mountain. Chad had seen windows barely visible on the mountain side.

A man greeted Uncle Sam as they arrived at surprisingly luxurious hide-away.

“Sam, you scared me. I got your letter two-weeks ago.”

“Bastian, this is Chad. We were in New Haven to visit Yale, but the situation escalated quickly. We’re being tracked; the Navy is after us.”

“It has to do with Tom, doesn’t it?”

” It’s why I wrote you Bastian. You were in the Marine’s with Tom. You were there that awful night.” Sam said.

“There was a critical reason Tom had to tell me about it; he had to protect Chad and Mona. She was sent into hiding as you promised, Bastian?”

Chad had to say something: “Mona, My Mom, Mona?”

Bastian scrutinized Chad.”Your Mom is fine Chad. I’ve friends keeping her safe. You know, you look a lot like your Dad.”

“What exactly did my Dad do?” Chad demanded turning to his Uncle.”Back at the hotel in New Haven you promised to tell me everything.I deserve to know what happened.”

Uncle Sam opened his mouth, then the windows exploded. Men in black clothing and masks came in on ropes into the house.

Bastian tossed Chad a gun. “You know how to use this right?”

Chad nodded, running for cover behind the kitchen island. Bullets dinged off metal and splintered wood. He had to shoot one man who came around the island.

When Chad saw the body drop, blood dripping from a bullet hole in the man’s masked forehead, his stomach knotted.

He watched, rapt, as Uncle Sam and Bastian killed eleven other men.


Please See Here for Part 2.


©Mandibelle16. (2016) All Rights Reserved.

25 thoughts on “Sunday Photo Fiction: Part 3 – Nineteen-Years Later”

    1. Hey Louise. Thank you for your comment and the tweet. I hope he finds out soon ( I have to think of something really good and I’m still thinking). And I think I’ve dragged it out three parts so I need to reveal what went on that night. But that will be next week 🙂 Thanks again.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Aha, more of the story comes out! Poor Chad has really been dropped into the middle of a terrifying situation. He must really trust his uncle implicitly, if he’s willing to shoot people when he’s not even sure what’s happening. I sure hope he’s right!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Al. I think Chad knew how to shoot. It’s something I think his Uncle would’ve made sure he knew how to do. I had a line on it, but had to cut it out. Yes, first shot to the head was good aim but also, a terrifying first -kill. Thanks

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

