Fiction, Haiku - 7,7,5, Lune - 5,3,5 or 5 words, 3 words, 5 words, Music and Performers, Music Review, My Thoughts, Poetry, Short Stories And Serial Stories, Writing

Poem: Haikus – ” Two Can Keep A Secret, If One of Us Is Dead.”


Just playing around in this poetry piece. I started from the beginning, watching Pretty Little Liars on Netflix. What first struck me on the second episode, was the theme song by The Pierces. It had such beautiful poetry and was catchy, so I had to play with it in my writing.


“Secrets” – The Pierces (Music Video)


“Got a secret
Can you keep it?
Swear this one you’ll save
Better lock it in your pocket
Taking this one to the grave
If I show you then I know you won’t tell what I said
‘Cause two can keep a secret if one of them is dead.”

The Pierces – “Secrets”


Beneath covert layers,

Hidden, you devise, secrets.

Ones you shouldn’t tell.


If your secrets are deadly,

Your playing games with our lives,

Let your sweet lies lay.


The business of obscurity,

Mask those secrets, don’t tell me,

Hidden truths veiled well.


“Got a secret
Can you keep it?
Swear this one you’ll save
Better lock it in your pocket
Taking this one to the grave
If I show you then I know you won’t tell what I said
‘Cause two can keep a secret if one of them is dead.”


Hands over my ears, disappear,

Your corrupt ideals, hurt us all.

Close your mouth, don’t talk.


Duck-tape your lips closed tight,

Reveal nothing, sinister girl,

Secrets for the grave.


Don’t enlighten with dishonesty,

Don’t share what you said you’d keep,

Telling truths ends dead.


“Got a secret
Can you keep it?
Swear this one you’ll save
Better lock it in your pocket
Taking this one to the grave
If I show you then I know you won’t tell what I said
‘Cause two can keep a secret if one of them is dead.”


Your lips move, I hear nothing,

I’m bent on staying out this time,

Your secrets hurt, kill.


A burden you say you must,

Share with me, release venom,

Keep your poison locked.


I’ve closed my door; shut you out,

I have my own secrets but,

Those I never tell.


“Got a secret
Can you keep it?
Swear this one you’ll save
Better lock it in your pocket
Taking this one to the grave
If I show you then I know you won’t tell what I said
‘Cause two can keep a secret if one of them is dead.”


©Mandibelle16.(2016) All Rights Reserved.

6 thoughts on “Poem: Haikus – ” Two Can Keep A Secret, If One of Us Is Dead.””

  1. Hiding secrets, often for good reason. Protection while working on things and working things out. The “layers” of your writing here certainly fit the persons and agendas on the show. The music, too. You offer fresh advisement for the characters and, well, for the rest of us. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

