Fiction, Flash Fiction, My Thoughts, Writing

Moral Monday’s Flash Fiction: Gossips Not Friends


Thanks to Nortina for hosting Moral Monday’s. This weeks moral is: “Judge Not, Lest You Be Judged.”


Gossips
http://www.dreamstime.com

“What’s wrong with her?” Kara said, watching her former BFF Darla open her locker.

“Yeah I know. She’s doesn’t care about her appearance anymore. ” Madeline added.

“We’re all best friends since sixth-grade. Darla used to dress well and wear makeup. She didn’t used to ignore us on her phone, or when we tried to visit.” Kara said miffed.

Darla looked up: “I can hear everything you guys are saying. My family died and you didn’t help me. You talked behind my back and spread rumors. They’re never coming back. Don’t you understand? You deserted me too.”


©Mandibelle16. (2016) All Rights Reserved.

22 thoughts on “Moral Monday’s Flash Fiction: Gossips Not Friends”

  1. HI Mandi! So glad that I can be back and get caught up on your posts! Great post, gossip is so sad and so cruel! And so true that usually we have no idea what the other person is going through that is being gossiped about!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi JR. No worries. I’ve been taking it easy on the blog too 🙂 Good to hear from you and yes especially school age girls can be gossipy, not knowing the truth. Although, sadly years ago, when I worked, I found work to be similar.

      Like

  2. Nice job. I’ve heard people say this before if someone stops wearing makeup or dressing up the way they used to, not realizing that those things can actually be a sign of distress or even depression. Superficial things don’t matter.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s so easy to point fingers when something looks so ‘obvious’ to you, but you can never judge and even if you happen to be right, that’s still no excuse to gossip! Great take! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks again Christopher. It’s hard to say, they will probably still end up friends. I’m picturing teenagers when I wrote this so I think best friends for so long will endure, even if Darla’s friends weren’t understanding. Maybe now, they will learn to be helpful and be better friends, more empathetic and less gossip.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

