Flash Fiction, My Thoughts, Nonfiction, Religion/Morality, Short Stories And Serial Stories, Writing

Moral Monday’s Flash Fiction: Reading On Sunday


Thanks to Nortina for hosting Moral Monday’s prompts. This week’s moral is any moral our Dad taught us.


Little Girl Reads Bible Verse
http://www.teachinghelp.org

The eight-year-old girl was crying. When a bulletin had come around church asking for people to read Bible verses once a month, the girl thought she could do it.

It was time for her to read the first lesson. She forgot how full the pews were on a Sunday.”I don’t want to do this Daddy,” said the little girl tearfully.

Her Dad comforted her and said: “I’m sorry but you said you would.”

The girl bowed, and stepped up on the alter.She started reading the first lesson into a mic. She was crying, but as she neared half-way, her tears calmed.When she was done reading, she felt peace pass over her.


©Mandibelle16. (2016) All Rights Reserved.

33 thoughts on “Moral Monday’s Flash Fiction: Reading On Sunday”

    1. Thank you Jenn. Yes it was pretty terrifying the first few times I did it. Then I became used to it. It was funny, a man whose daughter I had been friends with told me one day it terrified him to go up and read a bible lesson too, but once he saw an eight-year-0ld girl could it, he felt like he could do it too.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is great, Mandi. It must have been terrifying to stand up in front of all those people – I’m terrible at public readings, so can sympathise! – but it does become easier as you go along. What a great life lesson too, to realise what most scared you wasn’t as bad as you first thought. Nicely done 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Lynn. It was very hard the first couple times, but I remember only crying the first. Once I blame used to it I did it for quite a number of years. I always had adults come up to me and tell m hat you say, public speaking terrified them, but it helped because some people thought if an 8,9,10,11 year old could do it, so could they. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aw, thanks. These days I’m not so brave either. Is actually practice into a voice memo application if I have to speak public ally. Allows you to hear your own voice so u can make yourself sound less afraid and if the speech only needs to be say 10 min you can help yourself keep it 10 min too. Thanks again.

        Like

Leave a Reply

