Flash Fiction, My Thoughts, Nonfiction, Short Stories And Serial Stories, Writing

Moral Monday’s Flash Fiction: Caviar Stuffed Mushrooms


Thank you to Nortina for hosting Moral Monday’s prompts. The moral for this week is: ” Look, don’t touch.”


Caviar Stuffed Mushrooms
Caviar Stuffed Mushrooms (www.drvernehealth.com)

My family was visiting my Godparent’s house when I was thirteen. My Aunt made several small snacks for guests to eat before supper.

Mom warned me not everything on the table was food I’d enjoy eating. The snacks appeared fine to me, especially some tiny stuffed mushrooms.

I ate a mushroom and gagged because the little mushroom had caviar or fish eggs inside. Any food from the ocean to this day, makes me sick because I can’t handle the taste of the sea.

I ran to the bathroom and threw up. Thankfully, my Aunt had cleaning supplies beneath her sink.


©Mandibelle16. (2016) All Rights Reserved.

19 thoughts on “Moral Monday’s Flash Fiction: Caviar Stuffed Mushrooms”

  1. Stuffed mushrooms would have enticed me. Still do entice. Hmm, no more stuff from the sea. That could be sad, though (probably not so related) I swear tuna tastes more metallic than it used to. So maybe a prohibition of seafood is not all bad (okay, there’s a point).

    Hey, there was cleaning up afterward. Literally, a great way to fix up what happened. Given the circumstances, I don’t think things could have gone much better. Your friend–not a fan of caviar–Christopher

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha. I think some seafood is okay . . . For other people. That fishy taste I seem to be very sensitive even in fresh seafood. I detest it and even when I was in the hospital last summer, I had to lie and say I was allergic to it. I think about all I’ve been able to manage are bacon wrapped scallops, because fixes everything. The caviar adventure didn’t help. Thanks for your thoughts again Christopher my friend 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think I like fish ‘n chips. But by the time it’s batter-fried and doused with vinegar, how much of the fish am I actually tasting? Friend, Mandi, I might share your dislike of seafood more than I know. That’s all right. As you indicate, it won’t go to waste on others.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ha! This reminds me of the time a lady brought bourbon balls to a church function (oh, the irony) at my granddad’s (who doesn’t drink) house. You could smell the alcohol before you even opened the container! I think she used the whole bottle when she made them. They tasted horrible 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well, you had been warned… But it doesn’t matter what your parents say, you have to find out for yourself, don’t you? By the way, I do like caviar but I can’t see how it would work with mushrooms, to be honest.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me either? But I looked it up online, and their are many recipes for mushrooms stuffed with caviar. Yes, you do need to try sometimes to learn. Experience, the worst teacher as they say. Thanks Sonya.

      Like

    1. Thank you Lynn. All I can say is, thank goodness we were visiting my godparents (I call them Aunt and Uncle) and not somebody else. Yes, they do put is off. Truthfully, I’ve never been able to eat fish or seafood. Every once and a while I will eat a bacon wrapped scallop but that’s the only thing I can manage. Thanks for your thoughts.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

