Fiction, Flash Fiction, My Thoughts, Short Stories And Serial Stories, Travel, Writing

Flash Fiction for the Aspiring Writer: Too Many Eyes Watching The Cathedral Dome Restoration.


Thank you to Priceless Joy who hosts FFftAW each week.

—–

TJ. Paris

—–

“Gino you’re a talented Renaissance style art-restorer. We’re hopeful you can restore the painting of the dome frescos for the Cathedral.” Roberto an art historian said.

“Gentlemen,” Gino said, ” This dome was touched up recently, and not finished.”

“Can you complete it?” Marlin, the second art historian asked. 

Gino nodded, “For a price.”

“Of course,” Roberto readily agreed.

“Okay, I’ll start now.” Gino remarked, climbing the scaffolding with his tools.

 He worked tiressly until one morning Gino refused to go up the scaffolding.

“What is it Gino?” Marlin asked running from his office hearing the commotion between Roberto and Gino.

“Spiders, huge spiders everywhere. It’s why the first restorer never finished.” Gino said with disgust.

“But –” Roberto began, but Gino cut him off.

“Burn the place. Nothing but fire will destroy these specific spiders.” Gino insisted.

The frescos on the dome remain half restored. 

Gino spread the news through out Italy, gigantic spiders terrorize the famous Cathedral dome. 

——

ยฉMandibelle16.(2016) All Rights Reserved.

25 thoughts on “Flash Fiction for the Aspiring Writer: Too Many Eyes Watching The Cathedral Dome Restoration.”

    1. Haha. I’m just concerned about spiders in my bathroom downstairs. In spring there is usually a few and I hate them. Winter was warm so I’m scared not enough of them died lol. I keep the vacuum close ๐Ÿ™‚ Thus, a story came out of it. Have a good day ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  1. And so that’s why the library of Alexandria caught in flames too perhaps?? ๐Ÿ™‚
    Jokes aside this is fabulous as always.
    ๐Ÿ’•๐ŸŒ™

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, I really do agree. We just have little ones in Canada compared to most places. But I’m quite sure they’re still too big. I have read though in Australia where the spiders are gigantic, it’s better to have a bigger spider in your house because they will eat all the little ones which are poisonous. Still, I think the giant spider would be terrifying. And the spiders in the stories were amazing huge and ugly and rumour made them even worse. Thank you S for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you PJ. It’s good point it could be. I think it’s more they have some particularly giant and disgusting species living up there for a long time. Many people had spiders as Gino and the restorer before, and once Gino spread rumours, they became horrible spiders, man-eating etc Funny thing is in most warmer climates such as Italy, it’s the smaller spiders that are poisonous if they bite you. The big ones only eat the little ones.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yiikes! Spiders. Why did it have to be spiders? LOL… And I’m sure with the way rumors spread, the story of the cathedral spiders turned into giant, flesh eating demon spiders. Good luck with your giant, flesh eating demon bathroom spiders. ๐Ÿ˜‰ (I’m just SO rotten, aren’t I?)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha. Well I think anything as big as a quarter is giant and possibly flesh-eating lol. In the bathroom or house.

      But I have feeling the ones Gino saw were particularly large and ugly. And yes, their legendary man-eating skills and grotesque appearance were hyperbolized the the more Gino’s rumours spread ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks Chris. I appreciate the comment it made me smile ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha. Thanks Christopher. I keep the basement bathroom and surrounding area well vacuumed in the summer. I did some internet research and found out if you add peppermint oil drops to water, spiders and many other bugs don’t like it so I spray around the baseboard and under the cupboards etc.

      It actually works well, there has definitely been less spiders than past years. But I of course put in like 10 drops of peppermint oil into the spray bottle water, a little extra can’t hurt. The peppermint stings the spiders and other bugs, and most don’t like that. Plus, your bathroom or wherever smells nice . Thank you for reading. I think in the story the spiders were truly gigantic, maybe man-eating spiders lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

