Lauranelle - aba bcb cdc ded efe fbf ggA(1)A(2), May Day Prompts, My Thoughts, Nonfiction, Poetry, Short Stories And Serial Stories, Writing

Maydays: Poem – Lauranelle – “Smile On My Lips”


Thank you to K.L. Caley from new2writing for hosting the #Maydays prompts. Today’s prompt is about laughter. A Lauranelle is written in iambic pentameter with the following rhyme scheme: aba bcb cdc ded fbg ggA1A2. A1 and A2 are your first lines from the first two stanzas. Please see Shadow Poetry for more information.


 

laughing kids
http://www.natashatessier.com

The smile you place upon my lips and kiss,

Resonates within my heart’s core, dive in,

When you ask for as kiss, you sip, such bliss.


Letting time build and love restore within,

Pain once existed, left in night of dark.

Touching your skin, which I adore, no sin.


Laughter is all I feel, nothing which is stark,

Before you, life was emptiness, depart —

Giggling, smirk, hear the cheerful larks.


Telling j0kes, yours are genius of heart,

Never failing to make you smile, I try.

Dry wit turns away soberness, take heart.


When I think of you grinning while I sigh.

Thinking, words which will turn sadness away.

With rich laughter, love’s no trial, stay awhile.


Future is distant, with gladness I pray,

As we age you I know, I’ll adore you and grin.

Young love requires days of madness, I say.


No doubt in my mind, you are rightly mine.

No doubt in your mind, I’m your light shining.

The smile you place upon my lips and kiss.

Letting time build and love restore within.


©Mandibelle16. (2016) All Rights Reserved.

13 thoughts on “Maydays: Poem – Lauranelle – “Smile On My Lips””

      1. Thanks. It is something I’ve been undertaking the last year or so. I go to http://www.shadowpoetry.com to different TYPES of poetry. Usually. Your first offering is not the best but you learn how to work the form and meter (if it has meter) and make it better. I learn a lot through these various forms. There is so many I’ve yet to attempt. Thanks again 🙂

        Like

  1. What a beautiful clever form of poetry, Mandibelle! I haven’t seen it before (or if I have I hadn’t recognised it). Your words (as always) are wonderful and so sweet in this piece. Great Job. KL ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. awwww. the form is marvellous with your lovely words in it. ❤
    Love these lines:
    "Future is distant, with gladness I pray,

    As we age you I know, I’ll adore you and grin.

    Young love requires days of madness, I say."

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

