Writing

A writer’s guilty pleasure – reading #amwriting #amreading


This made me laugh. And it’s so true!

G.L. Cromarty

I’m a writer, which means I like to write.

Sometimes I also like to read. A lot. When I should be sleeping.When I should be doing something important.

Now, I know all the theories that writers are supposed to read, and how you will never be a great writer if you don’t read a lot etc. etc. But am I the only one who sometimes reads a book with a sense of guilty pleasure?

It’s like…

I could have completed editing thatchapter … but spent the evening reading instead.

Or I could have cleaned the house…but I spentthe afternoon reading instead.

And even when there is nothing more important to do, and you allow yourself the guilty pleasure of reading time, there are degrees of guilt. For example reading a classic or literary fiction is far more acceptable than dipping into the latest genre fiction offering in the bestseller list…

View original post 114 more words

5 thoughts on “A writer’s guilty pleasure – reading #amwriting #amreading”

  1. Thanks, Mandi, for re-posting this. I read lots of words, often eloquently expressed in books or other sources. I also like to take out concisely-written, hard-hitting, fully grown-up mysteries to read and enjoy. I appreciate the balance and the pleasure encouraged here.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

