Fiction, Flash Fiction, May Day Prompts, My Thoughts, Short Stories And Serial Stories, Writing

Maydays: Flash Fiction – Lost Keys #Maydays


img_1203


 

Thanks to C.L. Kaley of new2writing for today’s #Mayday prompt: a little lost.


Key
http://www.pamelamoskie.com

 

“Where are my keys?” Jeremy muttered. “I can’t find my keys. They were hanging on the key rack and now they’re not there?”

His friend Jake shrugged. “It happens man. I lose my keys all the time.”

Jeremy scowled at Jake, “Why aren’t you helping me search? They’re on a blue key chain with a skull. There’s ten keys on there and many of them from work. We won’t be going to that concert soon if I can’t find my keys because my car key is on that ring.”

Jake appeared bored but dutifully began searching for Jeremy’s keys. After ten minutes he gave up and sitting on Jeremy’s couch, flicked on the TV, turning it to a hockey game in progress.

“What’s the big deal with your keys?” Jake said to Jeremy. Jeremy looked at Jake irately.

“It’s expensive to replace them all and I haven’t got a lot of extra cash laying around right now.”

“No one does, bad times mean no jobs in the oil field.”

“I don’t work in oil Jake. That’s you. I work in an office downtown and I have keys to the whole office. Even the places where most people aren’t allowed to go. I need my keys.” Jeremy shouted.

“We’re going to miss the concert,” Jake said. “We should take a cab and look for your keys later. ” Jeremy rolled his eyes at Jake’s obtuseness.

“I have to lock my condo up Jake. I can’t leave it open.”

Ignoring Jeremy, Jake took out his phone to call a cab despite what Jeremy had said. He started to dial the cab number when he felt something hard and uncomfortable under his left leg. He dug between the couch cushions and found Jeremy’s keys.

“Hey look what I found Jeremy.” Jake said triumphantly.

Jeremy was stunned.”You mean, you were sitting on my keys the whole time you were on the couch?”

Jeremy attacked Jake, playfully punching him in the nose.

“You idiot you had my keys under your leg,” Jeremy said laughing and shaking his head at Jake.


©Mandibelle16. (2016) All Rights Reserved.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Maydays: Flash Fiction – Lost Keys #Maydays”

  1. I can understand Jeremy’s concern and anger, but Jake wasn’t sitting on the keys knowingly and he didn’t deserve to get punched.The frustration Jeremy was experiencing was well defined in the story, as well as Jakes’s apathy. Great job, Mandi.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Jessie. I’ve really been working at developing my dialogue 🙂 I think Jake just wants to go out and is not bring helpful. But it’s more just a guy thing him beating on Jake 🙂 Thanks for your thoughts and reading. 🌺

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

