Flash Fiction, May Day Prompts, My Thoughts, Nonfiction, Short Stories And Serial Stories, Writing

Maydays: NonFiction- One Sip #Maydays


img_1203


 

Thank you to C.L. Kaley for hosting #Mayday prompts. Today’s prompt is a dating story. 


 

couplefighting
http://www.susanpollucktherapy.com

 

“What are you having?” I asked Az.

“Oh um, nothing too big. I think I will have the calamari starter.”

“Oh gross, seafood. Especially calamari, it’s so rubbery.” I told Az.

“Mmm, I love it. What are you having?”

“I think I’ll have the usual.” I said and Az rolls his eyes but smiles.

“This is my first Valentine’s date you know. I’ve never been out with a guy on Valentine’s before.”

“Oh is it?” Az says smiling.

“No. I haven’t. Here try a bit of my drink it’s yummy.” Az sips the drink and I panic instantly.

I wasn’t thinking. Az is drinking my alcoholic drink and he’s a Muslim who doesn’t drink alcohol. I hope he’s not mad. One sip of Sangria won’t hurt him right?

“This tastes like alcohol,” Az says and he’s angry.

“I’m sorry I forgot. The sangria is delicious here. I’m in the habit of sharing a drink with a friend or family member if it tastes good. I didn’t mean to make you drink it.”

“You know I don’t drink.” Az replies.

“I’m sorry.” I tell him meaning it. But he doesn’t accept my apology.

He spends the next fifteen minutes brooding and giving me angry scowls. I didn’t think one sip of alcohol was that big of a deal religiously.

But for the next half-hour, Az is curt and rude. He says he’s not feeling well when I ask him what’s wrong. Az says he has a killer headache and wants to go home. He’s lying.

The waitress arrives arrives to apologize for our food being late. Az looks at me and I sigh and ask the waitress, “Can we please have our food to go. My boyfriend isn’t feeling well.”

“Yeah sure,” the waitress says. Five minutes later, I have our food packed up in a bag and we are heading back to my house. Az is driving as fast as he can.I don’t understand how he is so upset over one tiny sip.

“Are you okay?” I ask him.

“Do you think I’m okay? You gave me alcohol. I’m not allowed to drink alcohol.” Az says angrily.

“I didn’t mean it and I apologized. Your cousin gave you a sip or two of alcohol before and you didn’t get mad him like you are at me.” I said.

Az speeds up his car, racing me back to my house and barely stopping to let me out.

He grabs the bag of food thrusting it at me. “Here take all the food.”

“I don’t want the calamari,” I said. “It smells bad and no one in my house who is home, will eat it.”

Before Az can speak I take it out and put the calamari on the back seat of his car.

“Goodbye,” I say blandly, without looking at him as I slam his car door.

Inside, I’m fuming . To me a sip of liquor is such a tiny thing to become mad over and I never tried to make him drink the Sangria on purpose. I wasn’t thinking and I said sorry many times.

Az shouldn’t have ruined our entire Valentine’s Day because of his temper.

But that’s one reason why we broke up later on.


©Mandibelle16. (2016) All Rights Reserved.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Maydays: NonFiction- One Sip #Maydays”

  1. Hmmmm. An interesting post, to be sure. It seems odd that the cousin didn’t get the same reaction, but maybe he KNEW beforehand, with his cuz.
    I don’t know about Muslims, but as a recovering alcoholic, I pay more attention than to “carelessly” drink an alcoholic drink. Even a sip.
    I can see why a non-alcoholic, non-Muslim might react that way.
    Well written!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would have a hard time accepting his reaction…it seemed to be to the extreme. I can understand him being upset but getting that angry would really make me uneasy. sience they broke up later, perhaps he flew off the handle about something else in the same way as he did with the drink. Being with him would be like walking on thin ice. Great story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

