Poetry, Writing

Broken


I think to be happy, we must in our hearts be free.
But yet captives are happy with chains and darkness.
I hear them sing in tunes of bliss, yet us who fought for freedom are we really at liberty?
I think to be pleasant, we must also be thankful,
For how can you be happy, if you do not appreciate what you have.
But yet people in Africa starve and have little but shelter, not even their health.
So, I’ve learned that you can have nothing and be pleasant and laugh.
You can have everything in the world and yet have nothing for all you own, so share the little you have.
For some a little is a lot.
I think to be joyful you must be useful and have purpose.
But John Milton told me ” [he] also serves [God] who only stands and waits.”
We must be careful who are master is or we shall be enslaved, by the trappings of a wordly life, someday we must proceed.
We might think we need so much, when we need so little, we need no purpose, when our purpose, is heaven.
We need only wait to be fulfilled and have meaning.
And I thought to be happy, I needed someone, but I’ll tell you the truth there are 2 sides to that card.
Sometimes it’s nice to talk to someone, to discuss and have great conversations and hear through another’s eyes.
But sometimes happiness is a quiet day, in a peaceful place.
It’s a time to restore energy and think on the world a bit.
It’s a sanctuary where one can pray and take the time to hear nothing.
Yes, there are many different ways I thought I could be happy.
Many ways I could confess, I thought were the right ways to go.
But all in all, it’s no secret that happiness is not the goal.
Rather, be content and look above, that’s where life begins.
We cannot have happiness without falling into despair.
We cannot find joy if sometimes there is no tears.
We cannot find freedom, if sometimes we are not enslaved.
And we cannot have sanctuary or great conversations, if sometimes we don’t have one or the other.
You see, there are varied ways to look on happiness, but a better way is to think
and love the world for what it is – broken.

1 thought on “Broken”

Leave a Reply

