Beauty, Health

Best Foundations For Sensitive and Oily Skin and the Worst!


Over the last 6 months I have tried many different foundations for my skin. Some foundations I have been happy with and other foundations I have hated. When I look for a foundation I am looking for one with good coverage so it makes blemishes and redness disappear. I am also looking for long-lasting coverage,  morning to-night coverage if possible. The third aspect I look for in a great foundation and perhaps the most important is that is does not cause any rash or cause me to break out more than I was breaking out before. I never had a foundation give me a rash until one of the foundation’s  I tried in the past 6 months gave me one. I was a bit shocked when that happened. Anyways, here are 5 foundations I tried for at least 2 weeks each. Three of them I was happy with and two of them I was not.

www.lancome.ca
http://www.lancome.ca

1. Lancome Teinte Idole Ultra 24 HR Foundation is my most favorite foundation because it gives you a flawless complexion. It is “shine” free and “retouch” free so it lasts all day and your face does not look greasy after wearing it for a while. The “stability of Eternal Soft Polymer” within the formula of the foundation “allows for 10 % of comfort agents within the formula” to increase the feelings of ease and “freshness” when the foundation is applied, says http://www.lancome.ca.

The foundation comes from 8 years of research at Lancome and can be found in 20 different shades. Since I am a pale woman I find it hard to find foundations that are light enough for my skin color but in Lancome Tenite Idole Ultra 24HR I am 100 Ivoire N and it is the perfect shade for my skin. I loved this foundation most of all because of how it felt on my skin, light and fresh, yet it covered extremely well, even into the evening. All I had to do was touch up with a bit of powder at night and I was good for going out. The only bad thing about this foundation is the price. Although, the foundation does last a while, 3 to 4 months, it is $50.00 and if you’re on a budget you just can’t afford that price all the time, so I have decided to save this foundation for use in the summer when I don’t want my makeup to melt off from the heat. Not to mention, the foundation is also SPF 15.

2. Clinique Perfectly Real Makeup – Clinque’s perfectly real makeup is great and is in fact, my makeup of choice now. It has

www.clinique.ca
http://www.clinique.ca

medium coverage and comes in 25 different shades and I use shade 1. It’s greatest asset is that it controls oil and it’s for Dry Combination and Combination Oily skin (Types 3 & 4 if you use Clinique skin care). It  has a nice texture that spreads out on to skin well and covers blemishes and redness. Although, I do find you need a better concealer with this makeup (try Lancome MAQUICOMPLET complete coverage concealer for $32.oo), I still love it because Clinique products are so gentle on your skin, are oil free, hypoallergenic, and will not irritate your skin in any way. I do wear powder foundation over it, just like I do the Lancome foundation, but what I really love about this foundation is that for the most part it stays put. It does not dry out your skin in the winter and it is only $26.00 US so around $28.00 Canadian. I highly recommend it for very sensitive skin and if this particular Clinique foundation is not for you there are plenty of other good one’s you can try for around the same price. My only complaint, is it is not the best makeup to wear in the summer because it tends to melt off mid-day. This is why I would choose the Lancome foundation in summertime.

www.bathandundwind,com
http://www.bathandundwind,com

3. Korres Pomegranete Foundation – Another makeup I bought and tried was Korres Pomegranate Foundation. I tried and put it to my sleepover bag because it is only available in 4 different shades. I chose PF1 the lightest and it is a bit too yellow for my skin tone which has more blue or pink undertones. It is great because it is SPF 15 and offers full coverage with an “elastic” formula which conceals imperfections and redness and offers a matte finish. It is ideal for combination and oily skin and is made with ” Pomegranate extract” which Korres claims “tightens and heals” skin (www.bathandunwind.com).

I very much enjoy wearing this makeup and like how matte it is and I love other Korres products because they are naturally made in Greece. The pomegranate products in particular are made for combination and oily skin types. The only thing wrong with product, is that the color is just not quite right for me, but it may work for you. I think it might look better on me in summer when I have a bit of a tan but I’m not sure. However, after a while the foundation does seem to blend and sink into your skin so the color does not look off, just remember to blend well. The price is also great at just under $30.00 Canadian for a tube.

4. Smashbox High Definition Healthy FX Foundation SPF 15 – This foundation was $44.00 and

www.sephora.com
http://www.sephora.com

comes in 7 shades and I am faire F1. While it seemed like a neat foundation to try because the pigment is so good in the Smashbox eyeshadow and pencilsI have, the foundation really was not that impressive, here’s why: this “revolutionary” formula is supposed to be packed with all these super ingredients such as Vitamin C, and “cell-energizing ribose” to “renew” the appearance of skin. It also has “time release moisturizer” and “firming” benefits that last all day but I don’t think it’s a long-lasting foundation. I found it wore off mid-day and like the Smashbox Primer does, made my skin really greasy. The color was bang on but the foundation just didn’t stand up to my skin and in fact, made me break out. The only saving grace about this foundation is that I had samples from Sephora to try so I didn’t actually have to buy the foundation. I’m lucky I did because it would have been a waste of $44.00 which is on the more expensive side for a foundation. This foundation clearly, was not made for sensitive or oily skin even though I was told it would be great for my skin from a Sephora representative.

www.maccosmetics.com
http://www.maccosmetics.com

5. MAC Pro Long Wear Foundation – This foundation was supposed to last for 15 hours on your skin, yeah right! Not only did it not last, the foundation was streaky and the lightest color was too orangey for my skin. I had never tried MAC foundation before except for their Mineral foundation and I was not happy with that one either but the mineral foundation at least was gentle on my skin. This foundation was not. I began to break out a great deal and my face always felt greasy despite claims that the foundation was supposed to do the opposite.

Worst of all, if you have sensitive skin, I don’t think MAC foundation is good for you. I got a peeling rash around my mouth from this foundation that immediately began to heal when I stopped using the foundation. Every time I tried to use the foundation again it would irritate that rash and make it worse again. I’m not sure what is in this foundation that made my skin react but well it wasn’t fun. I am a big fan of lots of other products that are MAC such as blush, eyeshadow, pencils, and lipsticks but I think I will stay away from their foundation from now on.

In case you are interested in trying it and your skin is not as sensitive, the color I used was N15 and and it cost $37.00 Canadian. So, it’s in the middle price range. This foundation I unfortunately bought but remember you can save all your makeup containers from MAC for an eye shadow or a lipstick once you collect 5 and return them to the store. I will wash out the foundation and save the container for that! It’s always good to recycle when you can. 

Leave a Reply

